Personal Experiences Make Best Marketing Communications

“I have a theory that the best ads come from personal experience. Some of the good ones I have done have really come out of the real experience of my life, and somehow this has come over as true and valid and persuasive.” – David Ogilvy

This is one of my favorite Ogilvy quotes. As a marketer I completely agree with what he has said in those lines. The most persuasive marketing communications out there are the ones touching viewers at the deepest level of emotions and these campaigns are often results of personal experiences. When I am creating a marketing plan, I do exactly the same thing. I think what would I like to hear from this company to create a positive association? While we may belong to different sections, religions or parts of the society humanitarian aspect of every society is similar. Try to put yourself in the customer’s shoes and then you would know the best way to reach out to them and get their attention.

Leave a Reply

